ChatGPT and Codex will share a limit: what changes in December

ChatGPT and Codex will share a limit: what changes in December

OpenAI plans to unify ChatGPT and Codex usage allowances for Plus, Pro and Business subscribers in December 2026, as it brings Work's agent capabilities into the main ChatGPT experience. The company outlined the change in its Help Center.

Usage will be measured in tokens, units of information a model processes and generates. Instant chat will not draw from the shared allowance, OpenAI says.

How limits work today

Work and Codex already share an allowance: a task in Work reduces the amount available for Codex, and vice versa. Regular Chat currently has separate limits. For example, GPT-6 Pro messages in Chat have limits distinct from the Work and Codex allowance. Image generation, file uploads and regular Chat Voice also have their own limits. OpenAI explains the current rules.

The Work and Codex allowance is not a fixed number of messages. Consumption depends on the model, task and settings. Some plans have both a five-hour and a weekly limit: hitting either can mean waiting for it to reset or using an available extra option. Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 currently have no five-hour limit, although their included allowance remains limited.

From December, OpenAI plans to extend the shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex for Plus, Pro and Business. Instant chat remains outside that pool. The company has not yet explained in detail which models and situations will count against it.

How the shared allowance will work

Tasks in ChatGPT and Codex will be able to draw from the same allowance, with the Instant exception. The amount used will depend on the model and the complexity of the task. According to OpenAI, more advanced models and complex tasks generally use more of the allowance. A long coding-agent task may therefore consume more than a simple request, although the company has not published precise comparisons for these examples.

Users will be able to check their remaining allowance and reset times under Settings → Usage. Once the limit is reached, OpenAI says they can wait for a reset, upgrade their plan or buy credits for eligible features.

What happens to regular chat?

Instant is the key exception: conversations in that mode will not use the shared allowance. It would therefore be misleading to say that every ChatGPT message will count against a single token budget. OpenAI has not specified exactly which models and scenarios will qualify as Instant after the transition.

The change accompanies the move of Work's agent capabilities into the main ChatGPT experience. As The Decoder reports, OpenAI had already announced plans to bring Chat and Work together. The aim is to let people move from an idea to a completed task in one place.

How users reacted

The community reaction has been negative: many users say they may move to competitors, particularly Claude. A recurring concern is whether the shared allowance will be enough for people who use chat for planning, analysis and review, then rely on Codex to implement their ideas. They worry that preparation will draw from the same budget as coding.

Some see the change as a worse deal at the same subscription price and question whether the increased Pro allowance will offset the extra usage. Plus users noted that their email, according to them, did not mention an increase. Others compared Codex with Claude and said they might try it or cancel; one person said they had already cancelled. Their assessments of model quality and personal usage differ, while some participants welcomed the prospect of a simpler, unified interface.

Users who have already seen a combined interface report different results depending on the app and model. One said they could still use chat after exhausting Work's five-hour limit. These are individual observations before the December transition, not a test of the future rules. The discussions draw on r/codex's email thread, another r/codex discussion and r/ChatGPT.

What OpenAI has not disclosed

The company has not given an exact December launch date, allowance sizes for each plan, or a model-by-model table showing the cost of typical tasks. Without those figures, it is too early to reliably compare the new allowance with what subscribers receive today.

OpenAI expects most users will not need to wait for a reset more often than they do now. That is the company's forecast; users will be able to assess the outcome after the change. For a different way to access AI models, explore GPTunneL, where usage is paid from a single balance without a subscription.

Sources